Computer Troubles & Life Chances

Natasha Durning
2 min readAug 30, 2024

--

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

When I work up this morning and brought my caffeine over to my computer, I wanted to check something before I headed off to work.

I realized then that the screen hadn’t gone to sleep over night but I was even more confused because my mouse wouldn’t move around. I figured maybe the battery had died so I plugged it in and went on to get ready.

I came back before leaving and finally realized that the time was wrong which made me realize that the date was also wrong… My screen had been frozen since the night before and all I could do was force a shut down.

Unfortunately I didn’t have the time to put in and turn it back on before heading to work.

I’ve come home today and gone through the motions as explained on apples site and “fixed” drives or whatever it was. I’ve had my computer on probably 5+ times since beginning this journey a whole 5 hours ago and unfortunately no matter what I do it continues to turn off unexpectedly over and over.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t want to cry a little bit at this point. It’s very tempting, the iMac is only about 4 years old. This shouldn’t be happening.

I’m *just* figuring out putting my life back to better and I feel like I’ve heard stories about how that’s right when shit tends to hit the fan and test you… I really wasn’t looking for it though.

So not only is my body currently falling apart lately (read pulled hi flexor, hurt knee, kink in my neck) now my computer is to.

This makes me wonder and think though.

I’ve now put the computer in a corner off my desk. I miss the big screen and capabilities but part of me is thinking maybe this is a chance?

A chance to focus in on some important things that I want to do better in my life? Maybe this is that moment that I lose many of my distractions and get to work fully.

Maybe it’s a chance… to the me that I need time and space to find.

Just maybe.

I do still need to consider taking it in but maybe that won’t be right now.

--

--

Natasha Durning

Some girl figuring out life. One fall at a time. Writing about life + maybe a few ways to make it more enjoyable.